This is the "Home" page of the "ENG 111: Writing and Inquiry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENG 111: Writing and Inquiry  

A collection of writing and research resources for ENG 111 students at Nash Community College
Last Updated: Aug 21, 2014 URL: http://nashcc.libguides.com/eng111 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ENG 111 Instructors

Franchesca Battle, fbattle@nashcc.edu

Paula Boddie, pboddie@nashcc.edu

April Bristow-Smith, abristowsmith@nashcc.edu

Erika Galluppi, egalluppi@nashcc.edu

Kristin Harkins, kharkins@nashcc.edu

Katie Hoffer, khoffer@nashcc.edu

Michelle Jackson, mjackson@nashcc.edu

Robin Latham, rlatham@nashcc.edu

Debbie Lee, dlee@nashcc.edu

Renee Martinez, rmartinez@nashcc.edu

Bill O'Boyle, boboyle@nashcc.edu

Etaf Rum, erum@nashcc.edu

Holly Whistler, hwhistler@nashcc.edu

 

Read and Write

 

Welcome to the English 111 LibGuide

This guide has been created by the English faculty for students in English 111 classes.  There are tabs at the top which link to pages on the following topics.

  • The Writing Process
  • The Research Process
  • Plagiarism and MLA Documentation Style
  • Grammar Tools
  • Tutoring Resources

Please explore this site and utilize these pages for a successful English 111 experience!

 

ENG 111 Course Description

This course is designed to develop the ability to produce clear writing in a variety of genres and formats using a recursive process. Emphasis includes inquiry, analysis, effective use of rhetorical strategies, thesis development, audience awareness, and revision. Upon completion, students should be able to produce unified, coherent, well-developed essays using standard written English.  This course has been approved for transfer under the CAA as a general education course in English Composition.  This course has been approved for transfer under the ICAA as a general education course in English Composition.

 

ENG 111 Course Objectives

1.      Demonstrate writing as a recursive process.

2.      Demonstrate writing and inquiry in context using different rhetorical strategies to reflect, analyze, explain, and persuade in a variety of genres and formats.

3.      Students will reflect upon and explain their writing strategies.

4.      Demonstrate the critical use and examination of printed, digital, and visual materials.

5.      Locate, evaluate, and incorporate relevant sources with proper documentation.

6.      Compose texts incorporating rhetorically effective and conventional use of language.

7.      Collaborate actively in a writing community.

 

ENG 111 Required Texts and Materials

Bullock, Richard, Maureen Daly Goggin, and Francine Weinberg.  The Norton Field Guide to Writing with Readings and Handbook. 3rd ed.  New York: W.W. Norton & Company, 2013.  Print.

Online Course Management

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip